navigation logo navigation logo

County Overview

With a land area of 576 square miles and 187,117 population in 2021, the population density in the county is approximately 325 people per square mile. The county is situated along the southern portion of South Carolina’s Atlantic coastal plain. It is bordered by Colleton County, South Carolina on the northeast, Hampton County, South Carolina on the northwest, Jasper County, South Carolina on the southwest, and the Atlantic Ocean on the south. Most areas comprise largely of tidal marshes and swamps. 

Beaufort County’s climate is generally subtropical with hot summers and mild winters. It is wet and partly cloudy year-round. The average annual rainfall is approximately 49 inches with 105 days per year. Over the course of the year, the temperature typically varies from 42°F to 90°F and is rarely below 29°F or above 96°F.

There are four municipalities within Beaufort County including the City of Beaufort and the Towns of Bluffton, Hilton Head Island, and Port Royal.