navigation logo navigation logo

County Overview

With a land area of 560 square miles and 18,561 population in 2021, the population density in the county is approximately 33 people per square mile. The county is situated in the southeastern part of South Carolina. It is bordered on the northwest by Allendale County, South Carolina to the west by Screven County, Georgia to the southwest by Effingham County, Georgia, the north by Bamberg County, South Carolina to the south by Jasper County, South Carolina to the southeast by Beaufort County, South Carolina and to the east by Colleton County, South Carolina. Most areas comprise deep forests, swamps, and ponds.

Hampton County’s climate is humid and subtropical. The summers are hot and oppressive, and the winters are short and cold. It is wet and partly cloudy year-round. The average annual rainfall is approximately 48 inches with 106 days per year. Over the course of the year, the temperature typically varies from 38°F to 92°F and is rarely below 25°F or above 98°F.

There are nine municipalities within Hampton County including the Towns of Brunson, Estill, Furman, Gifford, Hampton, Luray, Scotia, Varnville, and Yemassee.